In v3.23.0, users can define alert and warning threshold for queue connectivity issues and backlog of records in a queue. Users can monitor a subscribe or share queue by setting thresholds, that when surpassed, will warn or alert.
Selecting the monitor checkbox will display the monitor fields and it will also require you to select a monitor polling interval before saving the form. This option is the repeated interval that the background job run at checking to see if the thresholds were passed.
Setting the records thresholds will warn or alert if the number of messages in the queue pass that threshold. Note that if both warning and alert thresholds are passed, the system will only send out an alert, not both an alert and a warning.
Setting the connection thresholds will warn or alert if your instance cannot properly connect to the queue for the provided duration. Not that if both warning and alert duration thresholds are passed, the system will only send out and alert, not both an alert and a warning.
This utility will create a log error in the Perspectium Logs (u_psp_log_message) on the instance as well as an Alert (u_psp_alerts) on the instance. The alert will look similar to the following:
You can then use the Error Notifications module that we include in the Update Set to fire off a notification corresponding to this alert. You can additionally apply filters onto this alert table to only capture those with Name = “Perspectium Queue Monitor”, or whichever alerts you would like notifications from. You could similarly build a custom notification record based off of the Alerts table.
Starting in v3.25.0 users can also track the history of their queues. This can be done by simply checking this “Track History” option under the monitor section.
This will store the counts of the data so you can view your queue count over time. If you then hit the “View History” UI Action you will see a chart similar to the one below.
This chart will by default load the last 7 days of data. You can pull up the last 3, 7, 14, or 30 days as well using the links underneath the chart. Data by default is also deleted when it is over 35 days old. This can be changed by going to the table u_psp_properties and adjusting the value of the record with name com.perspectium.queue_history.days_retained from 35 to the number of days you would like.